Forefront: Employment and labor law under the Trump Administration

Webinar

February 28, 2017 | 12:00 pm - 1:00 pm CT | Webinar | Accreditation 1.00 CLE

With President Donald Trump and his Secretary of Labor nominee, Andrew Puzder, both career business people, changes are already in play in the field of employment and labor law. These changes come on the heels of a year that saw extraordinary developments for employers. For example, as noted in our recent legal update, Texas Federal judge puts the brakes on the DOL's new overtime regulations, a federal court enjoined the Department of Labor from implementing its new overtime regulations. The preliminary injunction impacted more than 4 million workers nationwide, and many employers were taken by surprise, having already made changes to prepare for the regulations. Employers were also spared from another DOL rule that would have severely impacted the ability to confer with their attorneys over union organization activities. The DOL has appealed both injunctions to the 5th Circuit, but it may pursue the appeals, move to dismiss, or simply allow the rules to die.

Please join us as we discuss the status of these and other critical developments from the last years of the Obama Administration and provide a forecast for what domestic and international employers can expect from the Trump Administration.

Topics will include:

Equal Employment Opportunity Commission (EEOC)

  • A review of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender (LGBT) issues, including the agency position that Title VII covers sexual orientation claims
  • Guidance on transgender issues, including bathrooms

National Labor Relations Board (NLRB)

  • A look at the legacy of the Obama Administration's changes to micro units, joint employer status, and election procedures
  • Predictions relating to the U.S. Supreme Court's anticipated review of the enforceability of class action waivers in arbitration agreements

United States Department of Labor (DOL)

  • A discussion of the potential fate of the overtime rule
  • Predictions regarded anticipated efforts to modify the overtime rule to lower the salary basis

General discussion concerning key federal labor and employment agencies

  • A discussion of anticipated changes, including shifts in enforcement priorities and how anticipated budget cuts might affect these agencies

Global employment forecast of these issues for 2017

  • Same sex and gender identity discrimination in Europe and Asia
  • Union and Works Council developments in Latin America and Europe
  • Changes in governmental enforcement of immigration and independent contractor issues globally

Speakers

Brian Arbetter

Brian Arbetter

Partner, Norton Rose Fulbright US LLP

Mario A.  Barrera

Mario A. Barrera

Partner, Norton Rose Fulbright US LLP

Barbara Jean D'Aquila

Barbara Jean D'Aquila

Partner, Norton Rose Fulbright US LLP

Joseph Dole

Joseph Dole

Senior Counsel, Norton Rose Fulbright US LLP

Stephen J. Romero

Stephen J. Romero

Counsel, Norton Rose Fulbright US LLP

For additional information, please contact Mary Tipton by e-mail or at +1 713 651 5133.

Agenda

10:00 am - 11:00 am PST

11:00 am - 12:00 pm MST

12:00 pm - 1:00 pm CST

1:00 pm - 2:00 pm EST

6:00 pm - 7:00 pm GMT

Subscribe and stay up to date with the latest legal news, information and events... Register now